Skip to content

January 30, 2013

5

Meet Your Thyroid: A Cause of Weight Gain

by Wendy Myers

Anyone with thyroid problems should read this blog. If you have trouble losing weight, or feel depressed or tired, it could be your thyroid. The thyroid sets your metabolism and energy level. Learn how to detect reduced thyroid function, the causes of thyroid problems, and how to heal your thyroid.

 

button

 

5 Comments Post a comment
  1. Feb 24 2013

    THis article was awesome! Thanks, Devo

    Reply
  2. The treadmill runner
    Apr 14 2013

    Wendy, when you had low thyroid function have you had a goiter as well, or the only detectable sign was the high TSH? Also, if you had a goiter, did it shrink after treatment?
    Thanks!

    Reply
    • Apr 14 2013

      I did not have a goiter, as my thyroid dysfunction had not advanced this far. A goiter shows because the thyroid gland grows in hopes of obtaining more iodine from the body. It’s basically an iodine deficiency. I STILL have low thyroid function but it’s healing quite beautifully on the Nutritional Balancing Program with Hair Mineral Analysis. In fact, I’m training in the protocol as we speak. I’m not on any medication, just taking the targeted supplements designated by my hair mineral test. I was very deficient in a lot of nutrients, namely minerals, so they thyroid has a hard time doing it’s job without them. I take 6 capsules of Kelp per day to get iodine. You should likely do the same. It is far safer than taking iodine supplements, which I would never recommend. Isolated iodine can build up to toxic levels in the liver and body and cause other problems. It seems like the kelp has a lot of iodine, but because it’s from a plant, we don’t absorb all of the iodine from it.

      I did not have a high TSH either. It was only slightly elevated, so most doctors would not have treated it. Like I said in the article, there are many different ways in the whole thyroid feedback loop that can go wrong. This is why meds don’t work for everyone. My doctor recommended thyroid medication, which I took for a while, but I didn’t see a huge improvement because my cells were not allowing the thyroid hormone to get into my cells. It actually has to get into the cells to work! This is where nutritional balancing with hair mineral analysis comes in. The program is decreasing my cell permeability to allow the thyroid hormone my thyroid is making to get into the cells. My T3 was normal, meaning my thyroid was making plenty of hormone, it just couldn’t get in the cell. I have too much cell permeability because my sodium and potassium were very low. Plus, I was missing a bunch of minerals that make the whole thyroid mechanism work.

      My advice, do a hair mineral nutritional balancing program. There is a blog about it on my site called Nutritional Balancing with Hair Mineral Analysis. It is the only reliable way to heal your thyroid. What is beautiful about the program is that it addresses the ROOT CAUSE of why your thyroid is not working. Medication only addresses symptoms and works for most people, but they usually have to be on the meds – or told by their docs – that they have to be on the meds for life. Hooey! When you address the root cause and rid yourself of the problem, you don’t need medication. Nutritional Balancing even reverses Hashimoto’s and other autoimmune thyroid dysfunction. Truly remarkable. Nutritional Balancing heals your whole body as well, so you win in so many ways.

      I’ve been on the Nutritional Balancing program for a year. My thyroid function has improved, but it is a slow process! It can take years of being on the program for the body to heal. It depends on how bad off you are – how fargone your health has become. Also, the more religiously you follow the programs diet (given to you based upon your metabolism shown on the hair test), supplements, detox methods, rest, reduce sugar, etc, the faster you heal.

      To heal your thyroid, you MUST not eat gluten or sugar. Seriously, try to eliminate them!

      Read more about the thyroid and healing it with Nutritional Balancing Science here: http://www.drlwilson.com/articles/thyroid.htm
      Info about Hashimoto’s and Goiter: http://www.drlwilson.com/ARTICLES/HASHIMOTO.htm

      Love, Wendy

      Reply
  3. Jun 25 2013

    Thyroid deficiency is more dangerous in women, especially in pregnant women. It has to be diagnosed and treated as early as possible. Homeopathy is the best treatment for hypothyroidism.

    Reply

Join the Conversation

Note: HTML is allowed. Your email address will never be published.

Subscribe to comments

