Skip to content

July 14, 2012

19

Medicinal Manuka Honey

by Wendy Myers

Studies have found that Manuka honey contains very powerful antibacterial, antiviral, anti-inflammatory and antifungal properties. Manuka honey can even kill antibiotic resistant strains of bacteria, a growing problem worldwide. It can heal a huge variety of health conditions. Make it part of your medicine cabinet.

What is Manuka Honey?

Manuka honey comes from the nectar of the manuka bush (or tea tree – tea tree oil is made from a different plant). This bush is indigenous to New Zealand and thrives in the wild, uncultivated lands of New Zealand’s pollution free environment. It also grows in Australia where similar honeys are made. However, true Manuka honey is only from New Zealand.

button

19 Comments Post a comment
  1. These are actually enormous ideas in about blogging.

    You have touched some good things here. Any way keep up wrinting.

    Reply
  2. Evan Cressman
    Jan 8 2013

    when i have some cold sores, what i do is put some topical vitamins like B5 to help it heal faster..

    Look at all of the most recently released post on our very own web site
    http://www.melatoninfaq.com/the-side-effects-of-5-mg-milligrams-of-melatonin/

    Reply
  3. Merrill Ruhenkamp
    Feb 11 2013

    old sores can basically assault a person’s physique just from thinking “unclean thoughts”. Even though individuals will go about assured what they’re going to, rest assured that your cold sore outbreaks usually do not come from any thoughts, very good or poor, but rather a clear medical explanation. The truth, cold sores are primarily brought on by Herpes Simplex Virus, nothing at all over that, no thinking of negative thoughts, merely a virus. Do not mix up Herpes Simplex Virus Sort 1 (HSV-1) that are cold sores with Herpes Simplex Virus Sort two (HSV-2) which can be the form which is related with genitalia.’

    Most popular content coming from our webpage
    <http://www.healthmedicinecentral.com/pinched-nerve-in-lower-back/

    Reply
  4. I really like it whenever people get together and share
    opinions. Great blog, keep it up!

    Reply
  5. Howdy! I could have sworn I’ve been to this blog before but after browsing through many of the posts I realized it’s new to me.

    Anyhow, I’m definitely pleased I discovered it and I’ll be book-marking it and checking back frequently!

    Reply
  6. Heya i am for the first time here. I came across this board and I find It truly useful & it helped
    me out a lot. I hope to give something back and help
    others like you aided me.

    Reply
  7. Chrissy Bainbridge
    Jun 1 2013

    Hi, I discovered Manuka honey about 8 weeks ago, I had a chronic cough and sinus problems. I am a singer so this was a huge problem for me. After a couple of weeks of taking the honey everything cleared up and touch wood I am still free. However I am a type 2 diabetic and I am reading conflicting reviews on its affect on diabetics. I have read that its a major precursor of advanced glycation endproducts (AGE). To be honest I really don’t understand what that means, maybe you can enlighten me because I really don’t want to stop using it.

    Reply
    • Jun 1 2013

      Advanced glycation end products are something that is made when you eat too much sugar. They age you and cause a lot of cellular damage. Since manuka honey does contain sugar it will form these. Any treatment has its cost. The question is does the benefit outweigh the cost? In the case of manuka honey the answer is YES!

      However, since you’re diabetic I would limit my intake of manuka honey to only when you absolutely need it. If your diabetes is really bad I’d avoid it completely. Topical application is absolutely safe for you. A better option for you is certainly colloidal silver. It is fantastic for clearing up infections and totally safe. It will not upset your blood sugar like manuka honey.

      Reply
    • Jun 1 2013

      The brand of colloidal silver I recommend is Live Silver. It is 20 PPM, and the particles size is 0.0013 Microns.

      Reply
      • Chrissy Bainbridge
        Jun 2 2013

        Hi, thank you so much. I live in the UK but i’m sure I will be able to find it. I will continue with the Manuka only when I feel I need it most. It doesn’t spike my sugars so I feel it can’t be too bad for me to use now and then
        Chrissy

        Reply
        • Jun 2 2013

          GReat! If it doesn’t spike your blood sugar then it must work for you. That’s great because it sure is good medicine!

          Reply
  8. It does effectively hold in moisture and protect skin, or any other surface that it is covering, from the external
    environment. Antibacterial; fights infections; provides acne
    relief. The best time to apply retinol based skin care products is in the evening or at night before going to bed.

    Reply

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. Healing Rosacea | Live to 110
  2. Live to 110 Diet | Live to 110
  3. IBS with Diarrhea | Live to 110
  4. Live to 110 Diet | Live to 110
  5. Healing Rosacea | Live to 110
  6. Sugar 101 | Live to 110
  7. Testing the World’s first Bee Venom and Manuka Honey face mask | Style & Then Some

Join the Conversation

Note: HTML is allowed. Your email address will never be published.

Subscribe to comments

